Steam turbine damaged

THE CONTEXT

Twice, the bearings in a steam turbine used to recover the energy produced by a household waste incinerator were damaged due to lack of lubrication.

The damaged turbine uses oil-film bearings, meaning that fluid is continuously injected under pressure between the fixed part of the bearings and the rotor. The goal is to create a system with very little friction but that can support the significant forces in a turbine with a very high rotation speed.

When the incinerator was built, a company produced the system that operates a pump known as the pump of last resort. This pump is activated if the oil pressure in the bearings is too low. The system relies primarily on a pressure switch that has been directly linked to both incidents that occurred with the turbine.

GM CONSULTANT INTERVENTION

In view of what was at stake in this case, legal proceedings were launched immediately. The task of the GM Consultant loss adjusters, in partnership with a lawyer, was to take part in the judicial expertise meetings in order to best protect the company’s interests.

The stakes involved also meant that high-performance analysis tools were used (x-ray, tomography, scanning electron microscope, etc.).

Once the test results were received, they were interpreted and discussed. To this end, the GM Consultant loss adjusters drew up several Technical Reports to set out and support their arguments.

Fiche-Laurent-Lluch-turbine

Turbine à vapeur endommagée

LE CONTEXTE

A deux reprises, les paliers d’une turbine à vapeur valorisant l’énergie produite par un incinérateur de déchets ménagers, ont été endommagés suite à un défaut de lubrification.

La turbine sinistrée repose sur des paliers à film d’huile, c’est-à-dire qu’un fluide est continuellement injecté sous pression entre la partie fixe des paliers et le rotor. L’objectif est de créer un système présentant très peu de frottements tout en supportant les efforts importants existant dans une turbine dont la vitesse de rotation est très élevée.

Dans le cadre de la construction de l’incinérateur, une société a réalisé le système qui pilote la marche d’une pompe appelée d’ultime secours. Cette dernière démarre si la pression d’huile dans les paliers devient trop faible. Le système repose principalement sur un pressostat qui est directement incriminé dans les deux sinistres subis par la turbine.

L’ACTION GM CONSULTANT

Au regard de l’enjeu, le dossier est immédiatement entré dans un contexte judiciaire. La mission des experts GM Consultant, en partenariat avec un avocat, a été de participer aux réunions d’expertises judiciaires dans l’objectif de défendre au mieux les intérêts de la compagnie.

L’enjeu de ce dossier a également justifié le recours à des moyens d’analyse très performants (rayon X, tomographie, microscope électronique à balayage, …). Les résultats de ces essais ont donné lieu à des interprétations et des débats. Les experts de GM Consultant ont donc été amenés à rédiger plusieurs Notes Techniques afin d’exposer et justifier leur argumentaire.

Fiche-Laurent-Lluch-turbine