Tele-medicine and e-health: digital technology is shaking the foundations of traditional medicine

While medicine had long been considered as a science with limited possibilities, recent decades have led to the emergence of previously unimaginable feats and advances. These remarkable achievements include the advent of tele-medicine and e-health. However, despite the desire to develop and provide a framework for these new practices, recent developments have weakened certain fundamental principles of medical practice.

Since 2009, tele-medicine has been considered as “a form of distance medical practice using information and communication technologies”. For its part, the WHO defines e-health as a discipline using “digitized information production, transmission, management and sharing tools for the benefit of both medical and medical-social practices”.

Easier healthcare access

In a society in which the supply of care and the growing demand of patients are out of sync, tele-medicine is intended to improve the organisation of treatment systems.

According to OECD data, the number of trained and active physicians has grown steadily in recent years, even as the phenomenon of medical deserts has increased in parallel.

Faced with this challenge, many companies have innovated in order to make new tools available to healthcare professionals and patients.

Tele-medicine has made its way into the field of consultation, appraisal, monitoring and assistance, notably within the framework of outpatient surgery.

A new application has recently appeared within the landscape of smartphones and other connected tablets. Selected as the application of the week at the start of May 2016, the success of EPIDERM is undeniable; it can be used to quickly obtain the opinion of an online dermatologist, to ensure monitoring over several days and, if necessary, to direct the patient towards healthcare professionals.

Looking beyond diagnostics, the SANOFI group also entered the field of tele-medicine a few years ago by creating the DIABEO application, intended to help patients monitor their diabetes on a daily basis.

With the emergence of tele-medicine booths that provide for patient-physician contact via 
a videoconferencing system, the company HEALTH FOR DEVELOPMENT aims to provide “access to a physician, anywhere and at all times”.

If the development of tele-medicine is intended to develop and facilitate healthcare access, many questions are also being asked surrounding the emergence of this discipline.

What about medical liability and data protection?

Looking beyond the issue of unfair competition condemned by certain specialists because of the prices charged by some applications, there is also the question of medical liability.

Indeed, in a physician-patient relationship dominated by technology, there is reason to wonder about the place of the clinical examination that used to dominate the medical relationship, and that still remains of crucial importance with regard to orienting the medical decision.

Faced with constant news about the risks of hacking, that continue to grow with the development of technology, there is also the question of data security, which is a crucial component of sacrosanct medical secrecy.

While healthcare professionals and companies specialising in the field of e-health and tele-medicine must certainly provide a response with regard to the safety of medical information, the DeepMind Company, a Google subsidiary specialising in artificial intelligence, and three London hospitals recently signed an agreement that will allow the start-up to access the medical data of 1.6 million Britons.

Like IBM in the development of Watson, as well as Apple and its HealthKit application that should continue to develop, the praiseworthy objective of DeepMind is to create an application that will assess the stage of an illness even before the appearance of the first symptoms.

However, the means required in order to do so unquestionably violate the very principle of medical confidentiality established by Hippocrates.

Moreover, with the creation of new diagnostic tools using artificial intelligence, the subject of medical liability once again arises: in case of a medical error, who is responsible?

The development of dematerialized medical diagnoses and the involvement of private companies in the treatment of medical data are resulting in new risks that should progressively call into question the current system of medical liability.

Stéphanie Dumoulin
Casualty liability loss adjuster, GM Consultant Group

Télémédecine et e-santé : quand le digital bouleverse les piliers de la médecine traditionnelle.

Si la médecine a longtemps été considérée comme une science aux possibilités limitées, elle apparaît, depuis quelques décennies, capable de prouesses et d’avancées jusqu’alors inimaginables. L’avènement de la télémédecine et de l’e-santé font partie de ces évolutions remarquables. Cependant, malgré la volonté de développer et d’encadrer ces nouvelles pratiques, de récentes évolutions viennent fragiliser certains principes fondamentaux de la pratique médicale.

La télémédecine est considérée, depuis 2009, comme « une forme de pratique médicale à distance utilisant les technologies de l’information et de la communication ». L’OMS définit, quant à elle, l’e-santé comme une discipline utilisant « des outils de production, de transmission, de gestion et de partage d’informations numérisées au bénéfice des pratiques tant médicales que médico-sociales ».

Un accès aux soins facilité

Dans une société ou l’offre de soins et la demande croissante des patients sont en déséquilibre, la télémédecine tend à améliorer l’organisation du système de soins.

Face à ce défi, de nombreuses entreprises ont innové pour mettre à la disposition des professionnels de santé et des patients de nouveaux outils.

La télémédecine s’est invitée dans le domaine de la consultation, de l’expertise, de la surveillance et de l’assistance, notamment en matière de chirurgie ambulatoire.

Récemment, une nouvelle application a fait son apparition dans le paysage des smartphones et autres tablettes connectées. Elue application de la semaine au début du mois de mai 2016, le succès d’EPIDERM, qui permet d’obtenir rapidement l’avis d’un dermatologue en ligne, de bénéficier d’un suivi pendant plusieurs jours et si besoin d’être orienté par des professionnels dans le parcours de soins, est incontestable.

Au-delà du diagnostic, le groupe SANOFI s’est également engagé il y a quelques années dans la télémédecine en créant l’application DIABEO, conçue pour aider les patients à gérer au quotidien leur diabète.

Avec l’émergence des cabines de télémédecine, permettant de mettre en relation patient et médecin via un système de vidéo-conférence, la Société HEALTH FOR DEVELOPMENT a pour ambition de donner « accès à un médecin, partout, tout le temps ».

Si le développement de la télémédecine entend développer et faciliter l’accès aux soins, l’émergence de cette discipline suscite de nombreuses interrogations.

Quid de la responsabilité médicale et de la protection des données ?

Au-delà de la problématique de la concurrence déloyale, décriée par certains spécialistes en raison des prix pratiqués par certaines applications, se pose la question de la responsabilité médicale.

En effet, dans une relation médecin-patient dominée par la technologie, il convient de s’interroger sur la place de l’examen clinique, qui dominait autrefois la relation médicale et qui demeure encore d’une importance primordiale dans l’orientation de la décision médicale.

Alors que l’actualité fait régulièrement état des risques de piratage, qui ne cessent de croitre avec le développement de la technologie, se pose également la question de la sécurité des données, profondément liée au sacrosaint secret médical.

Si les professionnels de santé et les entreprises spécialisées dans le domaine de l’e-santé et de la télémédecine doivent nécessairement répondre de la sécurité des informations médicales, la société DeepMind, filiale de Google spécialisée dans l’intelligence artificielle, et trois hôpitaux londoniens, ont récemment conclu un accord permettant à la start-up d’accéder aux données médicales d’1,6 millions de britanniques.

Comme IBM et le développement de Watson, ou encore Apple et son application HealthKit qui devrait continuer à évoluer, l’objectif de DeepMind, tendant à créer une application permettant d’évaluer le stade de la maladie avant même l’apparition des premiers symptômes, est louable.

Cependant, les moyens mis en œuvre pour y parvenir vont incontestablement à l’encontre du principe même de confidentialité médicale édicté par Hippocrate.

Par ailleurs, avec la création de nouveaux outils de diagnostic faisant appel à l’intelligence artificielle, le sujet de la responsabilité médicale se pose de nouveau : en cas d’erreur médicale, qui est responsable ?

 

Stéphanie Dumoulin
Expert RC, Groupe GM Consultant