When quantum physics calls Internet security into question.

What is a quantum computer?

Since information technology is part of daily life, everybody now knows that a computer operates using a binary system with the “bit” having a value of ‘0’ or ‘1.’

A quantum computer operates in a completely different way.
Matter has astonishing properties in a sub-atomic state. One of them is “superposition.” That is to say that a particle may be ‘0’ or ‘1’ but also both at the same time and this, in proportions varying from 0 to 100%. It is on this characteristic that the qubit (or quantum bit) is based and it may thus have a considerable number of values. This gives the quantum computer extraordinary processing powers.

However, working in a sub-atomic state presents certain constraints and technological challenges. Among others, in order to maintain the value of a qubit in a stable state, it is necessary to work under extremely low temperatures in the order of -273°C, i.e. close to absolute zero.

When will we see quantum computers on our desks?

At the end of 2015, the company D-Wave presented the second version of its “quantum computer,” the D-Wave 2X. It was a black box the size of a garden shed that Google and NASA acquired for 15 million dollars. Difficult to imagine on your desk!
Google researchers announced that they had performed calculations 100 million times faster than with a conventional computer. And that is only the beginning: the quantum computer should be able to execute in one second what current machines would take 10,000 years to do.

Unfortunately, the D-Wave 2X is effectively nothing more than a quantum calculator, not a quantum computer. It is a very specialised machine that is only capable of resolving a single optimisation algorithm (simulated quantum annealing) unlike a conventional computer.

Article-ordinateur-quantique

Increased risks of hacking?

Internet security – regardless of whether it concerns online purchases, electronic signatures, SSL connections, etc. – is based on encryption keys (RSA). The length of these keys makes their decryption by brute-force attack impossible within a reasonable period since the attack consists of trying all combinations of a code in order to “end up” with the right one. With current technology, asymmetric encryption keys require approximately a decade of processing time to “crack.”

This same exercise would be performed by the future quantum computer within a period of approximately one second with a constant key length. Thus, all Internet exchanges, both by private individuals and by companies, would be weakened.

Obviously, taking their cost into account, these computers will be initially reserved for big businesses and governments. What about remote takeover of such machines for malicious purposes? Moreover, like many technologies, this one will undoubtedly have to democratise.

Protection measures already under study

Although the quantum computer does not therefore totally exist, considerable advances have been made. NSA itself takes the subject very seriously and considers that the progress made in this field is sufficiently significant to merit reinforced security standards.

“There is growing research in the area of quantum computing, and enough progress is being made that NSA must act now to protect NSS by encouraging the development and adoption of quantum resistant algorithms.”
NSA, January 2016

Matching words with action, it raised its cryptographic standards by considerably increasing the size of its encryption keys.

For their part, mathematicians have not been left out. Since 2016, they meet regularly at the international “Post Quantum Cryptography” conference to reflect on algorithms capable of resisting attacks from future quantum computers.

Although the quantum computer is not exactly for tomorrow, it nevertheless represents a race against the clock that has been undertaken to preserve Internet security.

 

Olivier Gévaudan
NTIC risks loss adjuster, GM Consultant Group

Quand la physique quantique remet en cause la sécurité de l’Internet

Qu’est-ce qu’un ordinateur quantique ?

L’informatique faisant partie de notre quotidien, chacun sait aujourd’hui qu’un ordinateur fonctionne sur un système binaire, le ‘bit’, pouvant prendre la valeur ‘0’ ou ‘1’.

Un ordinateur quantique fonctionne tout autrement. La matière, à l’état subatomique, a des propriétés étonnantes. L’une d’elle est la « superposition ». C’est-à-dire qu’une particule peut être ‘0’ ou ‘1’, mais également les deux à la fois, et ce, dans des proportions variant de 0 à 100 %. C’est sur cette caractéristique que repose un qubit (ou bit quantique), qui peut alors prendre un nombre considérable de valeurs. Ceci confère à l’ordinateur quantique une puissance de calcul hors normes.

Toutefois, travailler à l’état subatomique présente certaines contraintes et défis technologiques. Entre autres, pour conserver dans un état stable la valeur d’un qubit, il est nécessaire de travailler à des températures extrêmement basses, de l’ordre de -273°C … soit proche du zéro absolu.

A quand l’ordinateur quantique sur nos bureaux ?

Fin 2015, la société D-Wave a présenté la deuxième version de son « ordinateur quantique », le D-Wave 2X. Il s’agit d’une boîte noire de la taille d’une cabane de jardin, que Google et la NASA ont acquis pour 15 millions de dollars. Difficile de l’imaginer sur votre bureau !

Les chercheurs de Google ont annoncé avoir procédé à des calculs 100 millions de fois plus vite qu’avec un ordinateur traditionnel. Et ce n’est qu’un début : l’ordinateur quantique devrait être à même d’exécuter en une seconde ce qui prendrait 10 000 ans aux machines actuelles.

Mais malheureusement, le D-Wave 2X n’est en fait qu’un calculateur quantique, et non un ordinateur quantique. C’est-à-dire qu’il s’agit d’une machine très spécialisée, qui n’est capable de résoudre qu’un seul algorithme d’optimisation (le recuit simulé quantique), à l’inverse d’un ordinateur traditionnel.

Article-ordinateur-quantique

Des risques de piratage informatique accrus ?

La sécurité de l’Internet – qu’elle concerne les achats en ligne, les signatures électroniques, les connexions SSL, … – repose sur des clés de chiffrement (RSA). La longueur de ces clés rend impossible leur décryptage dans des délais raisonnables par une attaque de force brute, qui consiste à tenter toutes les combinaisons d’un code pour in fine le deviner. Avec la technologie actuelle, les clés de chiffrement asymétriques nécessitent un temps de traitement de l’ordre de la décennie pour être « cassées ».

Pour le futur ordinateur quantique, ce même exercice sera réalisé dans un délai de l’ordre de la seconde, à longueur de clé constante. Ainsi, ce sont l’ensemble des échanges sur Internet, aussi bien pour les particuliers que pour les entreprises, qui se verraient fragilisés.

Evidemment, ces ordinateurs, compte tenu du coût, seront dans un premier temps réservés aux grandes entreprises et aux gouvernements. Mais quid de la prise de contrôle à distance d’une telle machine à des fins malveillantes ? Par ailleurs, comme nombre de technologies, celle-ci aura sans doute vocation à se démocratiser.

Des mesures de protection d’ores et déjà à l’étude

Si l’ordinateur quantique n’existe donc pas tout à fait, les avancées en la matière sont certaines. La NSA elle-même prend le sujet très au sérieux et considère que les progrès dans ce domaine sont suffisamment significatifs pour renforcer ses normes de sécurité.

« There is growing research in the area of quantum computing, and enough progress is being made that NSA must act now to protect NSS by encouraging the development and adoption of quantum resistant algorithms ».

NSA, janvier 2016

Joignant le geste à la parole, elle a rehaussé ses standards cryptographiques en augmentant de manière considérable la taille de ses clés de chiffrement. De leur côté, les mathématiciens ne sont pas en reste. Depuis 2006, ils se retrouvent régulièrement à l’occasion de la conférence internationale « Post Quantum Cryptography » pour penser des algorithmes qui seraient résistants aux attaques des futurs ordinateurs quantiques.

Si l’ordinateur quantique n’est pas exactement pour demain, il n’en reste pas moins que c’est une course contre la montre qui s’est engagée afin de pouvoir préserver la sécurité de l’Internet.

Olivier Gévaudan

Expert NTIC, Groupe GM Consultant