Internet platform shut down

THE CONTEXT

The policyholder reported being the victim of a distributed denial of service attack. This cyber-attack involves flooding a computer with fake network requests to impede its ability to provide service for legitimate clients.

The physical infrastructure was installed on the premises of a service provider which immediately noticed unusually slow speeds on his Client’s equipment.

The policyholder and its hosting services provider responded by mitigation (filtering illegal traffic) which worked for a while. However, the fraudulent traffic adapted to bypass the filter criteria. The servers that were attacked had to be disconnected from the network, resulting in a shut down in the policyholder’s services and a lower Google search engine ranking for the associated websites that lasted a week.

GM CONSULTANT INTERVENTION

The impact analysis showed a significant loss of profits. GM Consultant provided a detailed estimate of the lost profit and assessed the financial damage caused by the cyber-attack. More effective semi-automatic protection mechanisms have been put in place since the incident.

Plateforme web indisponible

LE CONTEXTE

L’assuré a déclaré avoir été victime d’une malveillance par déni de service réparti Cette cyber attaque consiste à submerger une machine de requêtes réseau illégitimes afin de la priver de sa capacité à délivrer le service aux clients légitimes.

L’infrastructure matérielle était installée chez un prestataire qui a détecté immédiatement un ralentissement anormal sur les installations de son Client.

L’assuré et son prestataire d’hébergement ont utilisé une riposte par mitigation (filtrage du trafic illégitime) qui a fonctionné un temps. Cependant, le trafic malveillant s’est adapté pour contourner les critères de filtrage. Les serveurs attaqués ont dû être déconnectés du réseau entrainant une coupure des services de l’assuré et une dégradation du référencement des sites Internet associés auprès du moteur de recherche Google durant une semaine.

L’ACTION GM CONSULTANT

L’analyse d’impacts a révélé une perte de marge importante. GM Consultant a fourni une estimation précise de la perte de marge et évalué le préjudice financier induit par la cyber attaque. Des protections semi automatiques plus performantes ont été mise en place depuis.