Floating along on the Cloud?

Cloud computing has exploded in recent years. But why would that be the case? What are the benefits, but also the specific associated risks

The Cloud in a few words

In a certain sense, the innovation of Cloud computing harkens back to the “prehistoric” information technology represented by mainframes, those large central systems of the 1960s.

For both of these technologies, the principle is to shift the calculation power and storage resources to remote servers. In the case of the Cloud, the IT resources are accessed via the Internet, and the ergonomics are much more advanced than was the case with the old monochrome systems.

In other words, “the intelligence is no longer within the user’s workstation, but available over the Internet”.

The Cloud appeared in the 1990s and has developed unceasingly since then. So much so, that in 2013, worldwide expenses for Cloud services were estimated at $47 billion, with the expectation that they will reach $108 billion by 2017.

Technical and financial adaptability

Despite the initial hesitation of companies with regard to seeing their strategic data move outside of the company, Cloud computing has developed extensively because of its benefits.

Indeed, applications hosted within the Cloud can be accessed from any Internet browser: rolling out software programs to user workstations is no longer necessary, IT resources (applications and data) can be made available from anywhere and eventually from any peripheral device (tablets, smartphones, …).

Moreover, Cloud services are generally available for rental, meaning that companies can adapt their needs (dropping or adding new applications, changing the number of users, etc.) and their resources each month. There is also no initial investment, often considerable, that has to be anticipated when acquiring a stock of servers, and usage costs are calculated according to the level of consumed resources.

Finally, all or part of the administration, maintenance and even update operations are delegated to the Cloud’s depository companies. These companies are capable of deploying the very latest IT skills, that their customers would doubtlessly not be able to afford in-house.

The Cloud, an ideal solution?

This list of benefits would be enough to convince many people that the Cloud is an ideal solution for meeting corporate IT needs. This may well be the case, depending on one’s expectations and provided that attention is devoted to certain points.

Firstly, a Cloud hosting contract will systematically exclude the consequences linked to service downtime due to a failure of the transmission networks needed in order to access the applications and data. The service provider’s liability could potentially only be pursued if this party is also the provider of Internet access services.

In any event, for operational considerations, user companies must therefore ensure the quality of their connection and, depending on the critical nature of their business line applications, must make provisions for a backup line that will allow for operations in downgraded mode.

Also, the Service Quality Level provided by the service provider is defined in the SLA (Service Level Agreement). The duration and maximum percentage of any downtime over an invoicing period are generally stipulated therein. Failure to attain the SLA must require the service provider to pay penalties.

Like any servers classically hosted within a company, the Cloud is still made up of hardware that can suffer failures in addition to attacks (denial of service, ransomware, etc.)

In all cases, it’s important to determine whether the Cloud contract has been signed directly with the host, or through an intermediate reseller. In case of an incident and depending on the clauses limiting the liability of the host or reseller, recourse can prove to be more or less complicated.

No one solution is better than any other, but it is important to understand the contractual layout in order to ensure that it suits the usage situation. In particular, it is crucial to clearly identify the process and actor in charge of backing up data: User Company (some Cloud contracts stipulate that purchasing a backup service does not release a company from having to regularly backup its own data), reseller, and host. Cloud or no Cloud, losing data and the unavailability of a backup represent a major loss for companies.

To sum up: the Cloud yes, but not cloud 9.

 

Olivier Gévaudan
NTIC risks loss adjuster, GM Consultant Group

Sur un petit nuage avec le Cloud ?

Le Cloud computing connaît une véritable explosion ces dernières années. Mais pourquoi exactement ? Quels sont les avantages, mais également les risques spécifiques associés ?

Le Cloud en quelques mots

Dans un certain sens, la novation qu’est le Cloud computing rejoint l’informatique « préhistorique » que représentent les mainframes, grands systèmes centralisés issus des années 60.

Pour ces deux technologies, le principe consiste à déporter la puissance de calcul et les moyens de stockages sur des serveurs distants. Dans le cas du Cloud, les ressources informatiques sont accédées via Internet et l’ergonomie est largement plus aboutie que celle des vieux systèmes monochromes.

En d’autres termes, « l’intelligence n’est plus sur le poste de travail de l’utilisateur, mais disponible sur Internet ».

Le Cloud est apparu dans les années 90 et depuis n’a cessé de se développer. Tant et si bien qu’en 2013, les dépenses mondiales en services Cloud ont été estimées à 47 milliards de dollars et que d’ici 2017, elles devraient atteindre 108 milliards de dollars.

Une souplesse technique et financière

Le Cloud computing s’est largement développé en raison de ses avantages, malgré la réticence initiale des sociétés de voir leurs données stratégiques sortir de l’entreprise.

En effet, les applications hébergées dans le Cloud sont accessibles depuis un simple navigateur Internet : le déploiement des logiciels sur chacun des postes utilisateurs n’est plus nécessaire, les ressources informatiques (applications et données) peuvent être rendues disponibles depuis n’importe quel endroit et éventuellement depuis n’importe quel périphérique (tablettes, smartphones, …).

De surcroit, les services Cloud étant généralement accessibles en location, les entreprises peuvent adapter leurs besoins (abandon ou mise en place de nouvelles applications, variation du nombre d’utilisateurs etc.) et leurs ressources chaque mois. Par ailleurs, il n’y a pas d’investissement initial, souvent lourd, à prévoir pour acquérir un parc de serveurs et les coûts d’utilisation sont calculés en fonction du niveau de consommation des ressources.

Enfin, tout ou partie des opérations d’administration, de maintenance ou encore de mise à jour sont déléguées aux entreprises dépositaires du Cloud. Ces sociétés sont capables de déployer des compétences ultra pointues, que leurs clients n’auraient sans doute pas les moyens d’internaliser.

Le Cloud, solution idéale ?

Cette liste d’avantages tendrait à en convaincre plus d’un que le Cloud est une solution idéale pour répondre aux besoins informatiques des entreprises. Cela peut effectivement être le cas, mais en fonction des attentes de chacun et à la condition de respecter certains points de vigilance.

Tout d’abord, un contrat d’hébergement Cloud exclura systématiquement les conséquences liées à une indisponibilité des services due à une défaillance des réseaux de transmission, permettant d’accéder aux applications et données. La responsabilité du prestataire pourra être éventuellement engagée uniquement s’il est également le fournisseur des services d’accès à Internet.

Quoi qu’il en soit, pour des considérations opérationnelles, les sociétés utilisatrices ont donc tout intérêt à s’assurer de la qualité de leur connexion, et en fonction de la criticité de leurs applications métier, de prévoir une ligne de secours pour permettre un mode de fonctionnement dégradé.

Pour leur part, les SLA (Service Level Agreement) prévues au contrat définissent le Niveau de Qualité de Service délivré par le prestataire. Elles précisent généralement la durée et le pourcentage maximum d’indisponibilité sur une période de facturation. La non-atteinte des SLA doit déclencher le paiement de pénalités de la part du prestataire.

Ensuite, le Cloud, tout comme les serveurs classiquement hébergés au sein d’une entreprise, reste constitué d’équipements également soumis aux pannes matérielles aussi bien qu’aux attaques (déni de service, ransomwares, etc.)

Dans tous les cas, il est important de savoir si le contrat Cloud souscrit l’est directement auprès de l’hébergeur ou au travers d’un intermédiaire revendeur. En cas d’incident et en fonction des clauses limitatives de responsabilité de l’hébergeur et du revendeur, les recours peuvent s’avérer plus ou moins complexes.

Il n’y a pas de solution meilleure que l’autre, mais il est utile de connaître le schéma contractuel pour vérifier qu’il est adapté au cas d’emploi. Il est déterminant, notamment, d’identifier de manière certaine le processus et l’acteur en charge de la sauvegarde des données : société utilisatrice (certains contrats Cloud prévoient que l’achat de la prestation de sauvegarde ne la dédouane pas de faire des copies régulières de ses données), revendeur, hébergeur. Cloud ou pas Cloud, la perte des données et l’incapacité à disposer d’une sauvegarde reste un sinistre majeur pour les entreprises.

En une phrase : le Cloud oui, mais pas la tête dans les nuages.

 

Olivier Gévaudan
Expert risques NTIC, Groupe GM Consultant