The Paradox of Aviation Risk

The number of passengers transported on commercial planes between 1970 and 2015 has increased tenfold. During the same period, the number of deaths from aviation accidents was halved. This might lead us to conclude that aviation risk is decreasing; actually, it’s the opposite!

In fact, aviation risk does not decrease only with fewer crashes, whose financial consequences are very high. It also involves all market segments: design, production, infrastructure and operation. Each of these areas must comply with the same regulation, strength and traceability imperatives.

 

Direct Link between Operational Claims and Design Management

The numbers show that operational claims are relatively well-managed. These results are proof of the efforts companies and aircraft manufacturers have made to improve safety, as well as more drastic regulations. This especially translates into high-performing design that takes into account probability failure targets (rotating parts, motors, etc.).

 

Fewer Operating Risks, More Upstream Pressure…

Market growth (+ 65% in civil commercial planes delivered in 10 years) is accompanied, however, with enormous constraints on production and infrastructure.

Except for a few large players, this sector worldwide is made up of countless interdependent SME who all share the same end clients in aviation and defence. We must also add to this legislative and regulatory constraints that are sometimes very specific, all leading to pressure on the various players whose logistical structure is far less mature than the auto industry’s.

 

… and More Losses!

Proportionally, industrial and infrastructure losses are growing faster than changes to the aviation industry’s activity. This increase is tied to logistical requirements and to flows (manufacturing as well as people and merchandise transported), which become very tight. It’s also caused by operating losses in an industry where an aircraft’s operability rate is above 90%.

 

Company and Insurance Expert Development

The insurance market is adapting to these challenges by offering product ranges—depending on the position of their clients and their areas of activity—that can integrate risks traditionally tied to operating (especially the dreaded Aircraft On Ground).

Further upstream, regarding industrial aspects, we are also seeing certification elements taken into account when calculating premiums, which indicates insurers’ interest in manufacturing management and its immediate impact on aircraft reliability.

But the most anticipated development relates to treating claims: human and equipment contexts and financial interdependencies now cover issues such as operating in dedicated project mode and having responsive multidisciplinary teams—especially technical experts on the ground. These have become the profession’s essential elements.

Our emergency suitcase is always packed!

CLICK HERE TO GO BACK TO THE NEWSLETTER

 

Bernard PRIGENT
Aviation Loss Adjuster – GM Consultant

Le paradoxe de la sinistralité aéronautique

Le nombre de passagers transportés commercialement par avion entre 1970 et 2015 a été multiplié par 10. Sur la même période, le nombre de morts par accidents d’avion a été divisé par 2. Nous pourrions en conclure que la sinistralité aéronautique est en baisse ; c’est pourtant tout le contraire !

La sinistralité aéronautique ne se réduit en effet pas qu’aux seuls crashs dont les conséquences humaines et financières sont toujours lourdes. Elle concerne tous les segments du marché : la conception, la production, les infrastructures et l’exploitation. Chacun de ces pôles se devant de répondre aux mêmes impératifs de réglementation, de robustesse et de traçabilité.

 

Un lien direct entre sinistralité en exploitation et maîtrise de conception

Les chiffres montrent que la sinistralité du volet « exploitation » est plutôt maîtrisée. Ce résultat provient des efforts constants des compagnies et avionneurs pour accroitre la sécurité et d’une réglementation plus drastique. Il traduit surtout une grande performance de conception capable notamment de prendre en compte des cibles probabilistes de défaillance (cas des pièces tournantes, des moteurs…).

 

Moins de risque en exploitation mais plus de pression en amont…

La croissance du marché (+ 65 % d’avions civils commerciaux livrés en 10 ans) s’accompagne cependant d’énormes contraintes sur les volets production et infrastructure.

En effet, à l’exclusion de quelques gros acteurs, ce secteur est mondialement constitué d’une myriade de PMEs interdépendantes qui se partagent finalement les mêmes clients de l’aéronautique et de la défense. Ajoutons à cela les contraintes législatives et réglementaires parfois très spécifiques et l’on aboutit à une mise sous pression des différents acteurs dont la structuration logistique est, de plus, loin d’avoir la maturité de celle de l’industrie automobile…

 

… et plus de sinistres !

Proportionnellement, la sinistralité industrielle et d’infrastructure croît plus rapidement que l’évolution de l’activité du secteur aéronautique. Cette augmentation est liée aux nécessités logistiques, aux flux (de fabrication mais également de personnes et marchandises transportées) qui deviennent très tendus. Elle trouve également ses origines dans les pertes d’exploitations dans un secteur où le taux d’opérabilité d’un aéronef se situe au-dessus de 90 %…

 

L’évolution des compagnies et des experts d’assurance

Le marché assurantiel s’adapte à ces enjeux en proposant, en fonction de la position de ses clients et de leurs domaines d’activité – aviation commerciale, aviation générale, drones – des gammes de produits capables d’intégrer les risques classiquement liés à l’exploitation (et notamment à la très redoutée immobilisation au sol – AOG).

Plus en amont, sur les aspects industriels, on voit également apparaître la prise en compte d’éléments de certification dans le calcul des primes, ce qui dénote l’intérêt des assureurs vis-à-vis de la maîtrise de fabrication et de son impact immédiat sur la fiabilité des aéronefs.

Mais l’évolution la plus attendue concerne le traitement des sinistres : les contextes humains, matériels et les interdépendances financières couvrent à présent des enjeux tels que le mode de fonctionnement en projet dédié et la réactivité des équipes multidisciplinaires – et notamment celle des équipes d’experts techniques de terrain – deviennent les incontournables de la profession.

Notre valise d’urgence est toujours prête !

CLIQUEZ ICI POUR REVENIR A LA NEWSLETTER

Bernard PRIGENT
Expert Aéronautique – Groupe GM Consultant