IT hardware out of order

THE CONTEXT

A large number of digital files, including plans for a 32-unit housing project, stored on an architectural firm’s server became inaccessible. Even the backups were unusable.

After coverage was denied by the company responsible for the cost of re-entering the data, the architectural firm issued a subpoena against that company. A court-appointed expert was named. At the judicial expertise meeting, GM Consultant brought up several anomalies relating to the cause of the reported incident. The IT service provider, hired by the policyholder to examine the server, first reported a “computer virus”, then an “electronic malfunction”.

GM CONSULTANT INTERVENTION

The GM Consultant loss adjusters then suggested having the hard drive analysed by a specialised provider with access to a “clean room” to obtain clarifications about the cause and nature of the disk malfunction and to verify whether the coverage was applicable.

After an in-depth examination of the hard drive, the conclusion was that a logical disk failure (no tangible damage but inaccessible data) had occurred. The likely cause is therefore a virus, and the insurer can analyse coverage based on this assumption. In addition, the proposed cost for restoring the data is significantly lower than the cost for manual data entry that had been claimed by the policyholder.

ThinkstockPhotos-515677568

Matériel informatique hors service

LE CONTEXTE

De nombreux fichiers informatiques stockés sur le serveur d’un cabinet d’architectes, dont les plans d’un projet relatif à la construction de 32 logements, se sont avérés inaccessibles. Les sauvegardes elles-mêmes étaient inutilisables.

Suite à un refus de garantie de la part de la compagnie concernant la prise en charge des frais de ressaisie de données, le cabinet d’architectes a assigné cette dernière. Un expert judiciaire a été nommé. Lors de la réunion d’expertise judiciaire, GM Consultant a soulevé plusieurs anomalies, concernant l’origine du sinistre déclaré. En effet, le prestataire informatique, auquel l’assuré a fait appel afin d’établir un diagnostic du serveur, a énoncé dans un premier temps un « virus informatique » puis dans un second temps, une « panne électronique ».

L’ACTION GM CONSULTANT

Les experts de GM Consultant ont donc proposé une analyse du disque dur auprès d’un prestataire spécialisé équipé d’une « salle blanche » afin d’obtenir des précisions sur l’origine et la nature de la panne du disque et pouvoir vérifier l’application des garanties.

Après une analyse poussée du disque dur, il a été conclu à une panne logique du disque (absence de dommage matériel mais données inaccessibles). L’hypothèse du virus reste donc probable et peut être retenue. Cela permettra à l’assureur d’analyser ses garanties. Par ailleurs, des frais de reconstitution de données ont été proposés pour un montant nettement inférieur aux frais de ressaisie manuelle réclamée par l’assuré.

ThinkstockPhotos-515677568