Ultra-publicised, the driverless car still has a way to go

The Geneva show closes the doors on its 86th edition but the debate around driverless cars remains more topical than ever. Certain manufacturers display their ambition to have a driverless car on the road by 2030 or thereabouts. The technology is developing fast but regulations are not ready to authorise driverless cars on public highways. Although certain manufacturers acknowledge their involvement in the event of an accident, it will be necessary to define liabilities clearly with regard to accidents.

Driverless car: from virtual to reality in just a few years

A “driverless car” is a car capable of moving by itself without a driver or with more or less assistance from the latter.

The first world congress on driver assistance systems was held in 1994. The researchers displayed their ambitions at that event: develop anti-collision systems before 1999! During this congress, Mercedes-Benz gives a demonstration in Paris of two driverless vehicles controlled by software and capable of driving in lane, changing lanes and overtaking with a top speed of 130 kph.

As soon as 2012, the first Google Cars are authorised to run on the highways of Nevada. The United States nevertheless impose driving licenses for driverless cars on automobile manufacturers allowing the driver to take over control of the vehicle at any time.

Technologies and legislation that must continue to evolve…

Beyond legislation, the development of driverless cars has required equipment manufacturers to take up technological challenges, particularly concerning the range capacities of automotive radar systems.

Overall, three types of radar technology equip the vehicles:

  • Cameras.
  • Ultrasonic radars.
  • Laser range finder (LiDAR).

Ranges are limited to 100 metres for cameras and 200 metres for ultrasonic radars. The laser beam, for its part, is approximately one million times faster than ultrasound and is therefore much better adapted to use of driverless vehicles.

In order to develop, driverless vehicles therefore need new radar technologies, means of communication between vehicles, accurate embedded maps and a reliable network to ensure inter-connection.

In addition to developing in-vehicle technologies, manufacturers are therefore seeking to pool the data recorded by the different sensors in driverless vehicles in order to create a driverless vehicle “network” and thus multiply the amount of information transmitted. The mission of ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute) and CEN (European Committee for Standardization), certified bodies, is to standardise a protocol common to each vehicle.

Article-voiture-autonome

…to allow boarding around 2030!

The shift from conventional vehicles to fully automated vehicles is classified in 5 phases:

  • Phase 0: No automation.
  • Phase 1: Driver assistance.
  • Phase 2: Partial automation.
  • Phase 3: Conditional automation.
  • Phase 4: High level of automation.
  • Phase 5: Full automation.

Development of driverless vehicles has currently reached phase 3. Level 5, i.e. a vehicle capable of driving without a driver, is not currently authorised by French regulations. Its arrival is forecasted for 2030 or thereabouts.

Changes in regulations and the automobile fleet due to the arrival of fully automated vehicles are therefore not imminent but are nevertheless highly publicised.

Beyond the technological challenge and encouraging results, it will remain to define new regulations relative to the driverless vehicle and anticipate social and economic problems in the automobile sector.

Sébastien Elie
Automotive risks loss adjuster, GM Consultant Group

Bertrand Boiron
Automotive risks loss adjuster, GM Consultant Group

La voiture autonome a encore du chemin à parcourir !

Le salon de Genève ferme les portes de sa 86ème édition, mais le débat sur la voiture autonome reste plus que jamais d’actualité. Certains constructeurs affichent leurs ambitions de faire circuler un véhicule autonome vers 2030. La technologie est en plein développement mais la réglementation n’est pas prête pour autoriser la circulation des véhicules autonomes. Si certains constructeurs engagent leur implication en cas d’accident, il conviendra de définir clairement les responsabilités en cas d’accident.

Voiture autonome : du virtuel à la réalité en seulement quelques années

On appelle « voiture autonome » une voiture capable de se déplacer toute seule sans conducteur, ou avec une aide plus ou moins importante de ce dernier.

C’est en 1994 que s’est tenu le premier congrès mondial sur l’aide à la conduite. Lors de cet événement, les chercheurs affichaient leur ambition : développer des systèmes anticollisions avant 1999 ! Lors de ce congrès, Mercedes-Benz effectue une démonstration à Paris, de deux véhicules autonomes pilotés par des logiciels et capables de réaliser une conduite en file, changement de file et dépassement avec une vitesse de pointe de 130 km/h.

Dès 2012, les premières Google Cars sont autorisées à circuler sur les routes du Nevada. Les Etats-Unis imposent cependant, aux constructeurs automobiles, des permis de conduire pour les véhicules autonomes, permettant au conducteur de reprendre la main à tout moment sur le véhicule.

Des technologies et une législation qui doivent encore évoluer…

Au-delà de la législation, le développement des véhicules autonomes a nécessité, pour les équipementiers, de relever des défis technologiques, notamment concernant les capacités de portée des radars embarqués.

Globalement, trois technologies de radars équipent les véhicules :

  • les caméras ;
  • les radars à ultrason ;
  • le télémètre laser (LiDAR).

Les portées se limitent à 100 mètres pour les caméras et 200 mètres pour les radars à ultrason. Le faisceau laser est quant à lui environ un million de fois plus rapide que l’ultrason, et donc bien plus adapté à l’usage des véhicules autonomes.

Pour évoluer, les véhicules autonomes ont donc besoin de nouvelles technologies de radars, de moyens de communication entre véhicules, de cartographies embarquées précises et d’un réseau fiable afin d’assurer l’interconnexion.

En complément du développement des technologies embarquées, les constructeurs cherchent donc à mutualiser les données relevées par les différents capteurs des véhicules autonomes afin de créer un « réseau » de véhicule autonome et ainsi multiplier les informations transmises. Des organismes certifiés ETSI, et CEN ont pour mission de standardiser un protocole commun entre chaque véhicule.

Article-voiture-autonome

…pour permettre une montée à bord aux alentours de 2030 !

La mutation des véhicules classiques vers les véhicules complétement autonomes est classée en 5 phases :

  • Phase 0 : aucune automatisation ;
  • Phase 1 : assistance à la conduite ;
  • Phase 2 : automatisation partielle ;
  • Phase 3 : automatisation conditionnelle ;
  • Phase 4 : automatisation élevée ;
  • Phase 5 : automatisation complète.

Actuellement, le développement des véhicules autonomes a atteint la phase 3. Le niveau 5, autrement dit, le véhicule capable de circuler sans chauffeur n’est actuellement pas autorisé par la réglementation française. Son arrivée est estimée aux environs de 2030.

L’évolution de la réglementation et la mutation du parc automobile avec l’arrivée des véhicules complétement autonomes n’est donc pas imminente mais est pourtant très médiatisée.

Au-delà du défi technologique et des résultats encourageants, il restera à définir de nouvelles règlementations relatives au véhicule autonome et anticiper les problématiques sociales et économiques du secteur automobile.

Sébastien Elie et Bertrand BOIRON

Experts du pôle automobile, Groupe GM Consultant