Fire in a home

THE CONTEXT

A Fire rescue service, (SDIS- Fire and Emergency Service Department) was called to a fire on the ground floor of a residential building. On the day of the incident, the fire was recorded as extinguished at 5:30 p.m. and operations concluded at 6:52 p.m. The same day, the SDIS was called out again at 10:25 p.m. for a fire at the same address.

After the SDIS was called into question, their liability insurers summoned a GM Consultant loss adjuster with expertise in investigating the causes of fires, who was present at the joint appraisal meeting.

GM CONSULTANT INTERVENTION

Upon arrival, the loss adjuster analysed the tangible signs left behind after the fire. The sources of both fires were soon pinpointed and the possibility that the flames had spread (convection, radiation, projection) between the 1st and 2nd fires was rejected.

Next, the loss adjuster carried out an investigation at the second source and questioned the owners.

It was then reported that after the fire fighters had left, the owner had gathered the debris from the street and brought it inside, leaving it where the second fire broke out. The second fire was attributed to the re-ignition of the debris, which had been left on the pavement by the fire fighters but brought inside by the owner.

An analysis of the traces  left behind after the fire made it possible to release the SDIS from any liability.

Fiche-Nicolas-Patris-RDIS

Incendie au sein d’une habitation

LE CONTEXTE

Un Service Départemental d’Incendie et de Secours (SDIS) a été appelé pour un feu d’habitation, en rez-de-chaussée d’un bâtiment. Le jour du sinistre, le feu a été déclaré éteint à 17h30 et l’opération s’est terminé à 18h52. Le même jour, le SDIS a reçu un nouvel appel à 22h25 pour un incendie à la même adresse.

Suite à sa mise en cause, les assureurs RC du SDIS ont saisi un expert GM Consultant, spécialisé en recherches des causes et circonstances incendie, qui s’est rendu à l’expertise contradictoire.

L’ACTION GM CONSULTANT

A son arrivée, l’expert a procédé à l’analyse des signes objectifs laissés par l’incendie. Rapidement, les foyers des deux incendies ont été identifiés et il a été mis en évidence l’absence de tout phénomène de propagation des flammes (convection, rayonnement, projection) entre le 1er et le 2nd incendie.

L’expert a ensuite procédé à une fouille sur le second foyer et a interrogé les propriétaires. Il a alors été admis que le propriétaire, après le départ des pompiers, avait rentré les déblais laissés dans la rue et les avait positionnés sur l’emplacement du second foyer.

L’origine du second incendie a été expliquée par une reprise de feu des déblais, sortis par les pompiers sur le trottoir, mais rentrés par le propriétaire. L’analyse des signes laissés par l’incendie a permis de repousser la responsabilité du SDIS.

Fiche-Nicolas-Patris-RDIS