Multiple explosions of whipped cream dispensers

THE CONTEXT

Over several years, a large number of incidents involving whipped cream dispensers for household use were reported, for several different models and brands. As a result of these incidents, several distributors and French importers launched recall campaigns.

The circumstances were similar in each case: the explosion occurred when the dispenser was being used and when it was being pressurized with the gas cartridges. The cause of the explosions was breakage in the plastic head, usually the thread, and not in the aluminium body of the dispenser.

GM CONSULTANT INTERVENTION

GM Consultant loss adjusters were asked to manage, in project mode and for various parties, the negotiations relating to tangible damage, the monitoring of bodily injury cases and the analysis of the circumstances surrounding the incidents. In particular, they had to determine whether the dispensers were being used in accordance with the instructions.

For certain cases, operations to identify suppliers and opportunities for  recovery were initiated in China by our loss adjusters based in Asia. The loss adjusters confirmed that household use of the dispensers could result in dangerous levels of internal pressure.

Fiche-Moying-Chap-siphon-chantilly

Explosion sérielle de siphons

LE CONTEXTE

Depuis plusieurs années, de nombreux incidents impliquant des siphons à chantilly chez des particuliers sont apparus, sur plusieurs modèles et pour plusieurs marques. Suite à ces incidents, plusieurs distributeurs et plusieurs importateurs français ont lancé des campagnes de rappel.

Les circonstances des incidents étaient toutes similaires : l’explosion intervenait lors de l’utilisation du siphon et de sa mise en pression avec des cartouches de gaz. Les explosions étaient dues à des ruptures de la tête en plastique et pas du corps en aluminium du siphon, généralement au niveau du filetage de la tête.

L’ACTION GM CONSULTANT

Les experts GM Consultant ont été amenés à gérer, en mode projet et pour différentes parties, les négociations sur les dommages matériels, le suivi des dossiers corporels et l’analyse des circonstances des sinistres. Ils ont notamment dû déterminer si les utilisations de siphons étaient conformes aux instructions des notices explicatives.

Des opérations d’identification des fournisseurs et de recours ont été initiées dans certains dossiers en Chine par nos experts basés en Asie. Les experts ont confirmé que l’utilisation des siphons par des particuliers pouvait rapidement mener à des pressions internes dangereuses.

Fiche-Moying-Chap-siphon-chantilly