Error in property diagnosis: a prejudice but which one?

Buyers, sellers, do you think you are sufficiently informed about mandatory property diagnoses and protected if you discover termites or even asbestos after signature of the deed? Who covers the financial risk in the event of an error: The surveyor/inspector? The seller? The negligent buyer?

Since 1996 and the multiplication of diagnoses imposed by the laws and decrees regulating property transactions, numerous disputes between buyers and sellers have appeared as a result of errors committed by surveyors. Even though these disputes have been referred to the highest court, the liability of the different intervening parties has not ceased to develop with the fluctuating regulations, creating uncertainty in the assessment of prejudice by the parties and their insurers. A recent decision of the French Court (Cour de cassation) has again radically changed the situation!

Property diagnosis: a limited information tool

At the end of the 1990’s, the legislator creates a new profession, that of the property surveyor/inspector. Objective: “clean up” property transactions and limit congestion in Courts caused by proceedings opposing sellers and their unhappy buyers. This profession is presented as a means to avoid detection of problems (presence of termites, over-consumption of energy, etc.) or pollutants (lead, asbestos, etc.) after signature of the deed of sale.

Very quickly, the first diagnosis obligation relative to asbestos sees the light of day following the ban on marketing and installing materials containing asbestos. This first property diagnosis then paves the way for a major regulatory development multiplying mandatory diagnoses.

  • Carrez (1997): Measurement of the surface area of a condominium lot.
  • Lead (1998): Assessment of the risk of accessibility to lead.
  • Parasite status / Termites (1999): Search for infestation by wood pathogens.
  • DPE (2006): Classification of the property according to its energy consumption.
  • Gas (2007): Inspection of the condition of the interior gas installation.
  • Electricity (2009): Inspection of the condition of the interior electricity installation.

However, these inspections do not give the buyer any certainty because they are based on standards and implementing decrees defining the diagnostician’s scope of intervention, sometimes in an unclear manner and for the most part based on visual, non-invasive findings. The real extent of the diagnosis is often seen by buyers only in the event of a dispute following detection of elements not indicated in the report submitted by the service provider.

Establishing liabilities: and the causal link your Honour?

With the appearance of diagnoses, the surveyor/inspector becomes a new piece on the chessboard and his/her liability is regularly sought. Thus, they regularly find themselves called into question by the buyer who considers him/herself injured on discovery of a reality that differs from the diagnosis and also by the seller who seeks the warranty of the professional he/she appointed.

There then follows abundant jurisprudence relative to the consequences of an incorrect diagnosis.

  • Initially, the Courts considered that the offending diagnostician had only deprived the buyer of the chance to negotiate the sale price downward or abandon purchase of the property. Cover of disorders was not then attributed to the surveyor for lack of a causal link.
  • Going against these decisions, although well established, the French Court ruled for the first time in 2012(1) that the surveyor/inspector, who had not detected the terminates although they were present in a property at the time of sale, was bound to cover the entirety of the repair work in the property and, if necessary, its reconstruction since his/her “error” had made this work necessary. This decision, although surprising, since it seems to give the surveyor/inspector a duty to advise on the condition of the structure, has nevertheless been confirmed several times(2) and presaged real uncertainty with regard to the limits of diagnoses.
  • Recently, the Courts seem to have returned to better intentions. In a recent decision of 
7 January 2016(3), The French Court (Court of Cassation) considered that the property surveyor’s fault was not at the source of the disorders and that no causal link could be established. The sole prejudice attributable to an error on the part of the surveyor resides only in the increased amount of work to be carried out as a result of belated detection. This new position appears more adapted since the surveyor/inspector can not bear the financial cost of repairing disorders he/she did not cause!

Encouraging prospects… or not

These jurisprudential developments have a diametrically opposed scope depending on the party concerned. Private individuals, thinking the cost of their work will be covered, now risk having to content themselves with proving an increased amount of work or loss of the chance to have been able to negotiate the price in consequence.

Property diagnosis professionals, who are not necessarily insured for very large sums, legitimately see sentences of several hundreds of thousands of Euros in the case of dispute moving further away. Insurers can also be pleased with this recent development, which reduces the financial risk… until the next change.

This change has already occurred while we were writing this article and just before its publication, the French court’s 3rd chamber (3éme chambre civile de la cour de cassation) mentioned above as again issued a contradictory decision(4). The causal link has been retained between the mistakes made by 
a surveyor/inspector’s findings and the additional costs for asbestos removal.

Be that as it may, it remains very difficult for these different actors to identify the risks in a constantly shifting regulatory context. Hence the necessity to be well advised and up to date with one’s legal watch.

As proof, the official French Administration website that serves as a reference to the non-knowledgeable still indicates
Effectively, the French authorities official site which serves as a reference for unknowledgeable persons about these issues still indicates, based on the jurisprudences of 2015, that the property surveyor/inspector must compensate for the cost of repair work(5)… Would this legislation still be current at the time of publishing our newsletter?

Laurent Spano
Regulated professions loss adjuster, GM Consultant Group

Vincent Blondin
Financial risks loss adjuster GM Consultant Group

1 – Cass. Civ. 3ème, 12 sept. 2012, n°11-18122
2 – Cf. Cass. Mixte, 8 juil. 2015, n°13-26686
3 – Cass. Civ. 3ème, 7 janvier 2016, n°14-18561
4 – Cass. Civ. 3ème, 7 avril 2016, n°15-14996
5 – https://www.service-public.fr/particuliers/actualites/008236 (last update on 20/07/2015)

Erreur de diagnostic immobilier : un préjudice, mais lequel ?

Depuis 1996 et la multiplication des diagnostics imposés par des lois et des décrets encadrant les transactions immobilières, de nombreux litiges opposant acquéreurs et vendeurs sont apparus suite à des erreurs commises par les diagnostiqueurs. Bien que ces litiges soient remontés jusqu’à la plus haute juridiction, la responsabilité des différents intervenants n’a cessé d’évoluer au fil de la réglementation fluctuante, créant une incertitude dans l’appréciation des préjudices par les parties et leurs assureurs. Un récent arrêt de la Cour de cassation bouleverse encore la donne !

Le diagnostic immobilier : un outil d’information limité

Fin des années 1990, le législateur crée un nouveau métier, celui de diagnostiqueur immobilier. Objectif : assainir les transactions immobilières et limiter l’engorgement des Tribunaux par des procédures opposant des vendeurs à leurs acheteurs mécontents. Ce métier est présenté comme un moyen d’éviter la découverte de pathologies (présence de termites, surconsommation énergétique…) ou de polluants, (plomb, amiante…) postérieurement à la signature de l’acte de vente.

Très rapidement, la première obligation de diagnostic relatif à l’amiante voit le jour suite à l’interdiction de commercialiser et de mettre en œuvre des matériaux amiantés. Ce premier diagnostic immobilier signe alors le coup d’envoi d’une importante évolution réglementaire multipliant les diagnostics obligatoires :

  • Carrez (1997) : Mesurage de la superficie d’un lot de copropriété ;
  • Plomb (1998) : Evaluation du risque d’accessibilité au plomb ;
  • Etat parasitaire/ Termites (1999) : Recherches d’infestation d’agents pathogènes des bois ;
  • DPE (2006) : Classification du bien en fonction de ses consommations énergétiques ;
  • Gaz (2007) : Contrôle de l’état de l’installation intérieure de gaz ;
  • Electricité (2009) : Contrôle de l’état de l’installation intérieure d’électricité.

Cependant, ces contrôles ne confèrent aucune certitude pour l’acquéreur car ils reposent sur des normes et des décrets d’application délimitant de façon parfois imprécise le champ d’intervention du diagnostiqueur et ne s’appuient, la plupart du temps, que sur des constats visuels non-invasifs. L’étendue réelle du diagnostic n’est souvent perçue par les acquéreurs qu’en cas de litige après la découverte d’éléments non signalés dans le rapport fourni par l’opérateur.

Etablir les responsabilités : et le lien de causalité Monsieur le juge ?

Avec l’apparition des diagnostics, le diagnostiqueur devient une nouvelle pièce de l’échiquier et sa responsabilité est régulièrement recherchée. Il se retrouve ainsi régulièrement mis en cause par l’acquéreur qui s’estime lésé lorsqu’il découvre une réalité différente du diagnostic mais également par le vendeur qui recherche la garantie du professionnel qu’il a mandaté.

S’ensuit alors une abondante jurisprudence relative aux conséquences d’un diagnostic erroné.

  • Initialement, les Tribunaux estimaient que le diagnostiqueur fautif n’avait privé l’acquéreur que d’une perte de chance de négocier à la baisse le prix de vente ou de renoncer au bien. La prise en charge des désordres n’était alors pas imputée au diagnostiqueur, faute de lien de causalité.
  • A contre-courant de ces décisions pourtant bien établies, la Cour de cassation a jugé une première fois en 2012[1] que le diagnostiqueur, qui n’avait pas détecté les termites pourtant présentes dans un logement au moment de la vente, était tenu de prendre en charge l’intégralité des réparations de la maison, ainsi que son éventuelle reconstruction, puisque son « erreur » avait rendu ces travaux nécessaires. Cette décision, bien que surprenante puisqu’elle semble conférer au diagnostiqueur un devoir de conseil sur l’état de la structure, a néanmoins été confirmée à plusieurs reprises[2] et laissait présager une réelle incertitude sur les limites des diagnostics.
  • Les Tribunaux semblent être dernièrement revenus à de meilleures intentions. Dans un récent arrêt du 7 janvier 2016[3], la Cour de cassation a estimé que la faute du diagnostiqueur n’était pas à l’origine des désordres et qu’aucun lien de causalité ne pouvait être établi. Le seul préjudice imputable à une erreur du diagnostiqueur ne réside que dans l’aggravation des travaux à effectuer du fait de la tardiveté de la découverte. Cette nouvelle position apparaît plus adaptée puisque le diagnostiqueur ne peut supporter financièrement la reprise de désordres dont il n’est pas à l’origine !

Des perspectives encourageantes… sauf pour les particuliers

Ces évolutions jurisprudentielles ont une portée diamétralement opposée selon la partie concernée. Les particuliers, pensant obtenir la prise en charge de leurs travaux, risquent désormais de devoir se contenter de justifier d’une aggravation de travaux ou de la perte de chance d’avoir pu négocier le prix en connaissance de cause.

Les professionnels du diagnostic, qui ne sont pas nécessairement assurés pour des montants très élevés, voient légitimement s’éloigner des condamnations à plusieurs centaines de milliers d’euros en cas de litige. Les assureurs peuvent également se réjouir de cette récente évolution qui diminue le risque financier…jusqu’au prochain changement.

Et ce changement est visiblement déjà arrivé puisqu’entre la rédaction initiale et la publication de l’article, la 3ème chambre civile de la Cour de cassation a de nouveau rendu une décision contraire. Le lien de causalité a été retenu entre les manquements d’un diagnostiqueur et les coûts supplémentaires de désamiantage…

Il demeure donc très difficile pour les différents acteurs d’appréhender les risques dans un contexte réglementaire sans cesse en mouvement. D’où la nécessité d’être bien conseillé et à jour dans sa veille juridique.

Pour preuve, le site officiel de l’Administration française, pouvant servir de référence pour les profanes en la matière, indique toujours, en s’appuyant sur les jurisprudences de 2015, que le diagnostiqueur doit indemniser le surcoût des travaux de réparation… Cette solution sera-t-elle toujours d’actualité au jour de notre parution ?

Laurent Spano
Expert professions réglementées, Groupe GM Consultant

Vincent Blondin
Expert risques financiers, Groupe GM Consultant

[1] Cass. Civ. 3ème, 12 sept. 2012, n°11-18122

[2] Cf. Cass. Mixte, 8 juil. 2015, n°13-26686

[3] Cass. Civ. 3ème, 7 janvier 2016, n°14-18561