Budget overrun during a cash back offer

THE CONTEXT

An advertiser (a food manufacturer) organised a promotional offer for a product. The consumer could request a full refund for the product involved in the offer, provided that conditions for validity were met. A specialised management centre was tasked with handling the campaign. However, due to the campaign’s success, the budget that the advertiser had originally earmarked for the campaign was exceeded.

GM CONSULTANT INTERVENTION

GM Consultant’s loss adjusters analysed the claim by checking that the cash back offer was in compliance with the specifications of the coverage, checked the volume of products involved in the offer, checked that the rules for customer participation were respected (date of purchase, date entry form was sent, contact information, proof of purchase, etc.), and checked compliance with the management cost threshold limit.

This entailed a three-part analysis:

  • Gaining an understanding of the management centre’s control environment in order to assess its level of control over the entry verification process (part of the processing was outsourced to a foreign country).
  • Carrying out a comprehensive analysis of the operation’s results in order to establish a balance sheet.
  • Performing a detailed test on a sample entry form to verify those identified as “compliant”

The work done by GM Consultant led to adjusting, using a proportional approach, the declared budget overrun in order to limit it to the amount corresponding to the volume of products involved in the covered offer.

RefCom

Dépassement de budget promotionnel

LE CONTEXTE

Un annonceur, fabricant de produits alimentaires, a mis en place une opération promotionnelle sur un produit. Le consommateur pouvait demander un remboursement intégral du produit porteur de l’offre, sous réserve du respect des conditions de validité. Le traitement de la campagne a été délégué à un centre de gestion spécialisé. Cependant, suite au succès de l’opération, le budget prévu à l’origine par l’annonceur pour couvrir l’opération a été dépassé.

L’ACTION GM CONSULTANT

Les experts GM Consultant ont analysé la conformité des résultats de l’opération par rapport aux modalités initialement définies : la conformité du volume de produits porteurs de l’offre, le respect des modalités de participation par le consommateur (date d’achat, d’envoi du bon de participation, coordonnées, justificatifs d’achat, etc.), et le respect des seuils limites de frais de gestion.

Cette analyse a été menée selon trois axes :

  • Compréhension de l’environnement de contrôle en place au sein du centre de gestion, afin d’identifier le niveau de maîtrise du processus de contrôle des participations (une partie du traitement étant délocalisée à l’étranger).
  • Analyse de l’exhaustivité des résultats de l’opération afin d’en ressortir le bilan.
  • Test de détail sur un échantillon de participation pour validation des remontées identifiées « conformes »

Les travaux réalisés par GM Consultant ont conduit à ajuster, selon une approche proportionnelle, le dépassement de budget déclaré afin de le limiter au montant correspondant au volume de produits porteurs de l’offre garantie.

RefCom