Crowdfunding: Rapidly-Expanding Industry with Poorly-Managed Risks

Crowdfunding is rapidly expanding and so are the risks that go along with it.

As 2016 comes to a close, crowdfunding—which had been very lightly regulated—is becoming a major concern for industry professionals, public authorities and insurers.

Crowdfunding refers to raising money through donations, equity investments, or loans to finance artistic, humanitarian, social, or entrepreneurial projects.

According to the Good Morning Crowdfunding[1] site, the total amount collected was €296.8 million in 2015: €50.2 million in donations, €196.3 million in loans, and €50.3 million in equity investments. Numbers for 2016 will likely surpass these results.

However, crowdfunding by loans or capital investments still carries risks for all parties involved.

  • Unlike Angel Investors, amateur investors and the “apprentice loan officers” may lack experience in analysing the maturity of projects that are often in the start-up phase and run the risk of losing all or part of the capital they have invested or lent.
  • The project owner, as well as the internet platform, risk having the funds they’ve collected misappropriated. For example, the Swedish platform TrustBuddy, a pioneer in the industry, was the victim of a fraud scheme in excess of €4.7 million in 2009.

 

Regulatory Mechanism for a Mechanism That’s Moving in the Right Direction

In the face of growing potential risks, crowdfunding regulation is evolving in several ways.

First, in the area of oversight: the Sapin bill adopted on 30 March 2016 expanded the AMF Enforcement Committee’s jurisdiction to regulatory breaches likely to occur as part of crowdfunding.

Second, in the area of risk: the 28 October 2016 decree, part of the “Macron reform” significantly revamped crowdfunding regulations. The contribution cap was raised from €1,000 to €2,000 for interest-bearing loans and from €4,000 to €5,000 for non-interest-bearing, while increasing a project’s maximum financing from €1 million to €2.5 million per year.

 

Questions Remain Regarding Crowdfunding Platform Responsibility

Finally, in the area of risk insurance: the 30 May 2014 no. 2014-559 court order, which went into effect on 1 July 2016, requires crowdfunding platforms, intermediaries and their lawyers to take out professional liability insurance, mainly to cover monetary risks: misappropriation of funds, platform bankruptcy, insufficient project information or lack of information, etc. However, Good Morning Crowdfunding’s investigation in July 2016 revealed that only 15% of platforms would have purchased public liability insurance.

So, this raises the question of crowdfunding platform responsibility for insurers: are they responsible for project selection, especially in the case of manifest fraud or nearly immediate default after borrowing? What about financing requests made in the guise of a project that turn out to be nothing more than emergency cash loans?

[1] Cited by ACPR (French Prudential Supervision and Resolution Authority) as an information source on crowdfunding

CLICK HERE TO GO BACK TO THE NEWSLETTER

Rajâa AOUINA 
Finance and Services Loss adjuster – GM Consultant Group

Le crowdfunding : un procédé en plein essor…des risques encore mal maîtrisés

Le crowdfunding est en plein essor et les risques qui en découlent également !

En cette fin d’année 2016,  ce procédé de financement participatif, jusqu’alors très peu encadré, devient une préoccupation importante des professionnels du secteur, des pouvoirs publics et des assureurs.

Le financement participatif ou crowdfunding – littéralement financement par la foule – fait référence à une récolte de fonds sous forme de don, de prise de participation en fonds propres, ou de prêt, pour financer des projets pouvant être de nature artistique, humanitaire, sociale ou entrepreneuriale.

Selon le site Good Morning Crowdfunding[1], le montant collecté total a été de 296,8 millions d’euros en 2015 : 50,2 millions d’euros de dons, 196,3 millions d’euros de prêts, et 50,3 millions d’euros de prise de participation. Les chiffres de l’année 2016 devraient dépasser ces résultats.

Toutefois, le crowdfunding sous forme de prêt ou d’investissement en capital n’est pas sans risque pour l’ensemble des parties prenantes :

  • L’investisseur amateur  et « apprenti banquier » qui, contrairement aux Business Angels, peut manquer de compétence dans l’analyse de la maturité du projet souvent en phase d’amorçage, prend le risque de perdre tout ou partie du capital investi ou des fonds prêtés.
  • Le porteur de projet, tout comme la plateforme internet, courent le risque d’un détournement des fonds collectés. La plateforme suédoise TrustBuddy précurseur dans ce domaine en 2009 aurait été victime d’une fraude pour plus de 4,7 millions d’euros.

 

Un dispositif d’encadrement du dispositif qui évolue positivement

Face à l’accroissement des risques potentiels, l’encadrement du procédé de financement participatif évolue sur plusieurs aspects :

En matière de contrôle : le projet Sapin adopté le 30 mars 2016 étend notamment la compétence de la Commission des sanctions de l’Autorité des Marché Financiers aux manquements à la réglementation susceptibles d’être commis dans le cadre d’offre de crowdfunding.

En matière de prise de risque : le décret du 28 octobre 2016 s’inscrivant dans la « réforme Macron » rénove significativement la réglementation sur le crowdfunding. Ainsi, les plafonds de souscription par contributeurs sont relevés de 1 000 à 2 000 euros pour les prêts rémunérés, et de 4 000 à 5 000 euros pour les prêts non-rémunérés, tout en portant le financement maximal d’un projet de 1 million à 2,5 millions d’euros par an.

 

Des questions concernant la responsabilité des plateformes de crowdfunding qui demeurent

En matière d’assurance des risques : l’ordonnance du 30 mai 2014 n°2014-559, entrée en vigueur au 1er juillet 2016, place les plateformes de crowdfunding, les intermédiaires et leurs conseils, dans l’obligation de souscrire à une responsabilité civile professionnelle, visant à couvrir principalement des risques de nature pécuniaire : détournements de fonds, faillite de la plateforme, défaut ou insuffisance d’informations pour un projet… L’enquête menée en juillet 2016 par le site Good Morning Crowdfunding révélait toutefois que seules 15 % des plateformes auraient souscrit à une assurance Responsabilité Civile.

Se pose alors pour les assureurs la question de la responsabilité des plateformes de crowdfunding : sont-elles responsables de la sélection des projets, en particulier en cas de fraude manifeste ou de défaut quasi immédiat après l’emprunt ? Quid des demandes de financement faites en arguant d’un projet et qui se révèlent n’être que des prêts de trésorerie d’urgence ?

[1] Cité par l’ACPR comme source d’information sur le procédé du financement participatif

CLIQUER ICI POUR REVENIR A LA NEWSLETTER

Rajâa AOUINA 
Expert Finance et Services – Groupe GM Consultant