Natural disasters: the need for quick intervention

Each year, natural disasters affect millions of persons worldwide, causing billions of euros in damages. Just in 2015, 346 natural disasters affected 98.6 million people worldwide, causing damages worth $66.5 billion*.

Nevertheless, the biggest disasters are not the ones that have affected insurers the most. In 2015, in fact, it was the forest fires that raged across Indonesia for several weeks that had the most repercussions on the local economy. Damages of more than $16 billion, for “only” $250 million of insured losses.

For its part, the winter storm that struck the Eastern coast of the United States in February 2015 caused more than $2 billion of insured losses, but with an economic impact estimated at $3.3 billion.

Cascading consequences of the Kumamoto earthquake

In 2016, the claim potentially affecting insurers and their customers the most occurred on 14 and 15 April 2016, when a series of earthquakes struck Kumamoto prefecture in Japan. The main quake, magnitude 7, was devastating and caused damages to nearly 3900 residences and more than 120 public or industrial buildings. Followed by several mudslides and 14 fires, the earthquake also resulted in significant damage to infrastructures, notably motorways, railways and bridges.

Regional industry was also extensively affected as a result of the earthquake’s consequences on production and on the logistics chain. In fact, many international groups such as Mitsubishi, Fujifilm, Bridgestone, Honda and Toyota were directly impacted by the earthquake and had to discontinue production in order to inspect their production sites, or because of difficulties obtaining components.

Sony Corporation remains one of the companies most affected by the stoppage of its production plant for photographic sensors that manufactures, amongst other things, the new sensors intended to be used in the Apple iPhone 7 that is scheduled for launch in 2017. The company anticipates lost profits in the area of $1 billion.

Though an exact idea of the economic impact caused by these earthquakes will not be available for many months, current estimates indicate that the costs from this disaster should exceed $10 billion.

GM Consultant helps with a large clothing company’s business recovery after the earthquake

In connection with the natural disaster that affected Japan in April 2016, the GM Consultant group was required to act on behalf of European insurers, notably with regard to the damages suffered by several stores and warehouses of a large clothing company.

During our intervention, our experts accompanied the policyholder in order to determine the exact nature of the structural damage affecting the buildings, and assisted with the protective measures needed in order to limit any damages to its inventory.

Thanks to their quick reaction, our loss adjusters were able to provide the policyholder with crucial support that allowed it to quickly resume its activities and to limit the financial impact. Working with insurers and their customers through its presence in France and abroad, the GM Consultant group can provide responses as well as quick and suitable solutions in order to manage claims or large-scale crises.

 

Thomas Innocenti
Loss adjuster, International French Team Coordinator
GM Consultant Group

Les catastrophes naturelles : la nécessité d’une intervention rapide.

Chaque année, les catastrophes naturelles frappent des millions de personnes à travers le monde, engendrant des milliards d’euros de dommages. Pour la seule année 2015, 346 catastrophes naturelles ont affecté 98,6 millions de personnes à travers le monde et causé 66,5 milliards de dollars de dommages*.

Pourtant, les catastrophes les plus importantes ne sont pas celles qui affectent le plus les assureurs. En effet, en 2015, ce sont les feux de forêts qui ont ravagé l’Indonésie pendant plusieurs semaines qui ont eu les répercutions les plus conséquentes sur l’économie locale. Plus de 16 milliards de dollars de dommages pour « seulement » 250 millions de dollars de sinistre assuré.

La tempête hivernale qui a frappé la côte Est des Etats-Unis en février 2015 a quant à elle engendrée plus de 2 milliards de dollars de perte assurée, pour un impact économique estimé à 3,3 milliards de dollars.

Les conséquences, en cascade, du tremblement de terre de Kumamoto

En 2016, le sinistre qui risque d’affecter le plus les assureurs et leurs clients s’est produit les 14 et 15 avril 2016 quand une série de tremblements de terre ont frappé la préfecture de Kumamoto au Japon. De magnitude 7 Mw, la secousse principale a été dévastatrice provoquant des dommages sur près de 3 900 habitations et plus de 120 bâtiments publics ou industriels. Le tremblement de terre, suivi par plusieurs glissements de terrain et 14 incendies, a également occasionné des dégâts importants aux infrastructures, notamment aux autoroutes, réseaux ferroviaires et ponts.

L’industrie régionale a aussi été fortement touchée en raison des conséquences du séisme sur la chaîne logistique et sur la production. En effet, de nombreux groupes internationaux tels que Mitsubishi, Fujifilm, Bridgestone, Honda ou Toyota ont été directement impactés par le tremblement de terre et ont dû procéder à des arrêts de leur production afin de pouvoir inspecter les sites de production ou en raison de la difficulté à se procurer des composants.

Sony Corporation demeure l’une des sociétés les plus touchées suite à l’arrêt de son usine de fabrication de capteurs photographiques qui fabrique, entre autres, les nouveaux capteurs destinés à être utilisés sur l’IPhone 7 d’Apple et dont le lancement est prévu pour 2017. L’entreprise envisage une perte de ses profits de l’ordre d’un milliard de dollars.

Bien que de nombreux mois soient nécessaires pour obtenir une idée précise de l’impact économique causé par ces tremblements de terre, les estimations actuelles indiquent que les coûts relatifs à ce sinistre devraient s’élever à plus de 10 milliards de dollars.

GM Consultant favorise la reprise d’activité d’une grande enseigne d’habillement suite au séisme

Dans le cadre de la catastrophe naturelle qui a frappé le Japon en Avril 2016, le groupe GM Consultant est intervenu pour le compte d’assureurs européens, notamment suite aux dommages qui ont affecté une grande enseigne d’habillement dont plusieurs magasins et entrepôts ont été affectés.

Lors de notre intervention, nos experts ont accompagné l’assuré afin d’établir la nature précise des dommages structurels affectant les bâtiments et l’ont aidé à prendre les mesures conservatoires nécessaires pour permettre de limiter les dommages à son stock.

Nos experts, en intervenant rapidement, ont pu apporter un soutien capital à l’assuré lui permettant de reprendre son activité au plus vite et limitant ainsi l’impact financier. Proche des assureurs et de leurs clients à travers sa présence en France et à l’international, le groupe GM Consultant apporte des réponses et des solutions rapides et adaptées pour gérer des sinistres comme des crises de grande ampleur.

 

Thomas Innocenti
Expert et Coordinateur international de l’équipe française,
Groupe GM Consultant