Oh no… my lease !

CLICK HERE TO GO BACK TO THE NEWSLETTER

 

In France, 65% of those asked said that property would be their investment priority in 2016, up from 57% in 2015 according to a survey published in Les Echos on 26 September. While property still seems to be a sure bet for investors, the role of the insurer and the range of products on offer in the sector are constantly expanding to accommodate new risks with rental properties.

 

The lack of tenants’ insurance : an ever growing risk

Successive French governments have implemented several systems to make it easier to find housing, especially for the least well-off tenants. “Social” tax credits have made it easier for those on low incomes to rent housing from private landlords.

However, the current situation and falling household spending power are making the jobs of landlords and property managers more complicated by exposing them to new rental risks. It is increasingly common for tenants to be uninsured, or to have their policies terminated for failure to pay premiums, in addition to the usual risks of unpaid rent and property damage.

Learning to use the various insurance policies in rental claims

Remember that French law requires tenants to insure their accommodation, and failure to do so provides legal cause for terminating the lease.

When a claim is made on a rented property, several insurance policies may be triggered at the same time:

  • The tenant’s buildings and contents insurance
  • Absentee owner insurance
  • Residents’ association policy
  • The property manager’s or maintenance provider’s Professional Public Liability
  • Any rental guarantees taken out by the landlord

In light of these myriad policies and therefore stakeholders, GM Consultant takes action on various levels to settle claims arising from problems with rental properties:

Claim resolution : GM Consultant harnesses complementary skills

Our financial loss adjusters work on claims where the public liability of the property manager or residents’ association, professions governed by the Hoguet Law, is liable to be invoked. Our construction loss adjusters are specialists in finding the cause of the problem and assessing the damages incurred by repairs to the building.

Lastly SES, a group subsidiary specialising in claim management for third parties, provides its assistance for all damage surveys covered by property or corporate buildings & contents insurance via its Asset Damage department, with claims being managed remotely or on-site. It also provides insurers and landlords (private landlords or property managers) with a comprehensive Rent Guarantee Management (RGM) solution covering everything from reporting the incident, regular compensation for claims, and the evaluation of wear and tear caused by the tenant. Its RGM department is also involved throughout all amicable or legal proceedings launched against the tenant to evict them from the property and recover unpaid rent.

Our collaborative tools specially designed to manage exactly this kind of issue, our expertise at different stages of the process, and the interaction between our various teams means that our clients are guaranteed a fast, comprehensive, and appropriate response to their needs and those of their policyholders, in a sector at the heart of French people’s concerns.

 

Elisabeth AZOULAY
“Crisis management” Project Manager / Manager of Real estate department  – SES

Vincent BLONDIN
Finance and Services loss adjsuter – GM Consultant Group

Aïe, aïe, aïe…mon bail !

CLIQUER POUR REVENIR A LA NEWSLETTER

65 % des Français interrogés répondent que leur choix d’investissement se portera en priorité sur l’immobilier en 2016, contre 57 % en 2015 selon un sondage publié dans les Echos le 26 septembre dernier. Si l’immobilier semble demeurer une valeur sûre pour les investisseurs, le rôle de l’assureur et la gamme de produits proposés dans ce secteur ne cesse également de croître face à l’apparition de nouveaux risques locatifs.

L’absence d’assurance locataire : un risque qui ne cesse de croître

Les gouvernements successifs ont mis en place plusieurs dispositifs pour faciliter l’accession au logement, notamment pour les locataires les moins aisés. Les dispositifs fiscaux, dits « sociaux », ont ainsi permis à des personnes disposant de faibles ressources d’accéder plus facilement à la location des logements du parc privé.

Cependant, la conjoncture et la baisse du pouvoir d’achat des ménages complexifient la mission des bailleurs et des Administrateurs de Biens en les confrontant à de nouveaux risques locatifs. L’absence de souscription d’assurance locataire (ou de résiliation pour non-paiement de primes) est de plus en plus fréquente et s’ajoutent aux risques classiques d’impayés de loyers et de dégradations immobilières.

Savoir utiliser les multiples contrats d’assurance lors d’un sinistre locatif

Rappelons que la Loi oblige le locataire à assurer son logement et que le défaut d’assurance est une cause de résiliation judicaire du bail.

En cas de sinistre sur un bien loué, plusieurs contrats d’assurance peuvent être actionnés en même temps :

  • La Multirisque Habitation du locataire ;
  • L’Assurance Propriétaire non occupant ;
  • L’Assurance du Syndic de copropriété
  • La Responsabilité civile Professionnelle de l’Administrateur de biens ou des prestataires de maintenance des locaux ;
  • Les Garanties locatives éventuellement souscrites par le bailleur.

Face à cette multitude de contrats et par conséquent de participants, le groupe GM Consultant intervient à plusieurs niveaux dans la résolution de sinistres liés aux problématiques locatives :

Résolution des sinistres : GM Consultant mobilise des compétences complémentaires

Nos experts financiers interviennent sur des dossiers dans lesquels la responsabilité civile de l’Administrateur ou du Syndic, professions encadrées par la loi Hoguet, est susceptible d’être engagée. Nos experts en construction sont, quant à eux, spécialisés dans la recherche des causes et de l’évaluation des dommages liés à la remise en état des bâtiments.

Enfin, SES, filiale du groupe spécialisée dans la gestion de sinistres pour compte de tiers, offre son assistance pour toutes les expertises relevant des contrats MRH Immeuble ou Entreprise par l’intermédiaire de son pôle Dommage aux Biens, dossiers gérés en télé expertise ou sur le terrain. Elle fournit également aux assureurs et aux bailleurs (propriétaires indépendants ou gestionnaires de biens) une solution complète de Gestion des Garanties Locatives (GLI) allant de la déclaration de sinistre, à l’indemnisation périodique des dossiers et à l’évaluation et des détériorations imputables au locataire. Son Pôle GLI intervient aussi sur l’ensemble de la procédure, amiable ou judiciaire, engagée à l’encontre du locataire pour obtenir son départ du logement et recouvrir les loyers impayés.

Nos outils collaboratifs et spécialement conçus pour la gestion de ces problématiques, notre expertise à différents niveaux et l’interaction entre nos différents pôles de compétence assurent à nos clients une réponse rapide, complète et adaptée à leurs besoins et à celui des assurés, dans un domaine au centre des préoccupations des foyers français.

 

Elisabeth AZOULAY
Chef de projet gestion de crise / Manager pôle immobilier  – SES

Vincent BLONDIN
Expert Finance et Services – Groupe GM Consultant