Aerovoltaic

Aerovoltaic: Is there protection for hybrid energy-saving systems for individuals?

An aerovoltaic system combines electrical energy production and thermal energy production. Since it promotes energy savings, it clearly fits into the law on energy transition.  It’s a nearly perfect system that multiple-risk homeowner insurance policies won’t insure.

The 17 August 2015 law on energy transition and green growth is a so-called “mobilisation and action” law applicable to everyone throughout French territory: individuals, businesses, and governments. Among other things, its goal is to reduce energy consumption and promote renewable energy production.

Sixteen concrete measures encourage individuals to stay informed about their electricity and heating use and to reduce consumption as much as possible. Incentives such as zero-interest borrowing and tax credits for energy transition support them in improving their home’s energy performance.

 

Up to 50% of a home’s hot water and heating production

Aerovoltaic systems are composed of both photovoltaic modules that product electricity and a system of capturing the hot air that circulates below these modules, allowing systems to meet energy saving and renewable energy production needs.

This hybrid system is becoming more widely used by individuals. It combines electric energy production using “standard” photovoltaic panels and thermal energy production by capturing and redistributing throughout the home all the air circulating below the photovoltaic modules, which is warmed by the Joule effect.

This air recovery system, coupled with a dual-flow ventilation system or heat pump, can provide up to 50% of a home’s hot water and/or heating.

 

Damages not covered by multiple-risk homeowner insurance

The only downside to the ideal aerovoltaic system? Multiple-risk homeowner insurance policies won’t insure them.
They refuse to cover aerovoltaic systems in photovoltaic coverage because, according to the terms, a photovoltaic system for producing electricity can’t also be a heating system, and vice versa.
They can justify this position by pointing to how the French government defines aerovoltaic: a solar heating system, which makes it eligible for a 30% tax credit.

At a time when everyone is asked to participate in the energy transition and energy-saving systems are encouraged, the need to protect individuals against losses for these types of cogeneration systems seems to have been forgotten.

What’s the future for hybrid systems?

Aerovoltaic manufacturers would do well to take a cue from existing cogeneration techniques in the industrial sector where energy savings are also highly encouraged.

Several of these techniques (methanisation, gas turbines, etc.) are already being used on an industrial scale and electric energy and thermal energy plants are already fully insured.

Aerovoltaic systems could be offered as a less-cumbersome hybrid alternative, requiring less maintenance and civil engineering, since they could easily be integrated into existing industrial building roof structures, producing heat that could provide both hot water and heating for production lines and other spaces (offices, workshops, locker rooms, etc.).

Then, perhaps someday insurance companies will review energy-saving system coverage for individuals.

CLICK HERE TO GO BACK TO THE NEWSLETTER

Marie PAVAN
Energies Loss adjuster – GM Consultant group

Aérovoltaïque

Aérovoltaïque : quelle protection pour les systèmes hybrides d’économie d’énergie pour particuliers ?

Ce système combine la production d’énergie électrique et la production d’énergie thermique. Favorisant les économies d’énergie, il s’inscrit pleinement dans la loi relative à la transition énergétique.  Un système presque idéal que les Multirisques Habitation n’accepteraient cependant pas de garantir…

La loi du 17 août 2015 relative à la transition énergétique et la croissance verte est une loi dite « de mobilisation et d’action » qui concerne l’ensemble des actifs du territoire français : particuliers, entreprises et pouvoirs publics. Elle se donne pour objectif, entre autre, de réduire les consommations d’énergie et de favoriser la production d’énergies renouvelables.

Seize mesures concrètes encouragent les particuliers à se tenir informés de leur consommation d’électricité et de chauffage et à en réduire, au maximum, les consommations. Prêt à taux zéro et crédit d’impôt pour la transition énergétique les soutiennent dans leur démarche d’amélioration de la performance énergétique de leur habitation.

 

Jusqu’à 50 % de la production d’eau chaude et de chauffage d’une habitation

Constitué, à la fois, de modules photovoltaïques produisant de l’énergie électrique et d’un système de récupération de l’air chaud circulant en sous-face des modules, l’aérovoltaïque permet de répondre aux problématiques d’économie d’énergies et de production d’énergies renouvelables.

Ce système hybride de plus en plus plébiscité par les particuliers, combine la production d’énergie électrique au moyen de panneaux photovoltaïques « standards » et la production d’énergie thermique en récupérant et redistribuant au sein de l’habitation, l’air circulant sous les modules photovoltaïques et réchauffé par effet Joule.

Couplé à une VMC double flux ou à un ballon thermodynamique, ce système de récupération d’air pourrait assurer jusqu’à 50 % de la production d’eau chaude et/ou de chauffage d’une habitation.

 

Des sinistres non couverts par les Multirisques Habitation

Seul accroc dans le tableau idéal présenté par l’aérovoltaïque : les Multirisques Habitation n’accepteraient pas de système hybride.

Elles refuseraient de prendre en compte l’aérovoltaïque dans leur extension de garantie Photovoltaïque car, dans les termes, une installation photovoltaïque, système de production d’électricité, ne peut être également une installation de chauffage, et inversement.

Ce positionnement peut prendre appui sur la position du gouvernement français qui définit l’aérovoltaïque comme un système de chauffage solaire bénéficiant, à ce titre, d’un crédit d’impôt de 30 %.

A l’heure de la Transition Energétique où l’engagement de chacun est demandé et où les systèmes d’économies d’énergie sont encouragés, la protection des risques sur ce type de système de cogénération pour particuliers apparait donc comme une oubliée.

 

Quel avenir pour les systèmes hybrides ?

L’aérovoltaïque pourrait bien faire des émules dans le milieu industriel où les économies d’énergies sont également vivement encouragées.

Plusieurs techniques de cogénération (méthanisation, turbine à gaz, …) sont déjà exploitées de façon industrielle et bénéficient de couvertures de risque prenant en compte les installations de production d’énergie électriques et d’énergie thermique dans leur intégralité.

L’aérovoltaïque pourrait être proposée comme une solution hybride moins encombrante, nécessitant moins d’entretien et de Génie Civil, car facilement intégrable aux toitures de bâtiments industriels existants, avec une production de chaleur pouvant recouvrir à la fois les besoin en eau chaude et chauffage des chaines de process et des locaux (bureaux, ateliers, vestiaires, …).

Avec peut-être dans l’avenir, un retour sur la couverture de risques des systèmes d’économie d’énergie pour particuliers…

CLIQUER ICI POUR REVENIR A LA NEWSLETTER

Marie PAVAN
Expert Energies – Groupe GM Consultant