1, 2, 3 … Sweep !

CLICK HERE TO GO BACK TO THE NEWSLETTER

 

The first waves of cold have arrived and along with them, the first light in the fireplaces… But to prevent a log fire from becoming a flue fire, it’s important to sweep chimneys according to the rules. This task should be completed at least twice a year, including once during the period when the fireplace will be used. According to DTU [Unified Technical Document] 24.1, “Sweeping means cleaning by direct mechanical action the interior of the chimney in order to remove soot and deposits and to ensure the flue is empty throughout”.

 

Chimney sweeps’ diagnostic duty

In reality, despite smoothly-running operations, unexpected fires still occur too frequently. The reason? Chimney sweeps have a tendency to omit their duty to diagnose visible non-compliance!

In other words, when they have a chimney sweep certification, craftspeople absolutely must reveal any anomalies in chimney flues, the most frequent being the presence of creosote.

Remember that creosote is residue from incomplete wood combustion that essentially forms when the smoke temperature is lower than 54°C. This tarry condensate fills the chimney and is protected by soot deposits. The problem is that creosote ignites at 145°C. So, at the beginning of winter, fireplace owners have their flues swept and start using their fireplaces, feeling they’re safe to us them. But when the soot is removed, the creosote ignites and we receive a claim.

Various types of claims

However, it’s important to be careful not to wrongly accuse chimney sweeps. Let’s specify that a residential fire that begins in the chimney area can have other causes, especially a non-visible defect like incorrect chimney installation.

Chimney flues or pipes, whether fixed or removable, used for evacuating combustion gases must be implemented in accordance with regulations. Among fire causes, we have identified:

  • More than 2 offsets, at 45° maximum (in other words, more than one non-vertical part)
  • Lack of expansion space at floor juncture
  • Incorrect safety distance between the external pipe and any adjacent combustible materials
  • Lack of a safety damper at each floor and ceiling juncture
  • Incorrectly interlocked flue (interlock must respect the flow of condensate)
  • Abrupt section changes, etc.

Regulations are strict in terms of constructing flues (rigid and flexible): The NF DTU 24.1 “Heating Engineering” is the normative reference document in this construction field. It establishes the regulations for designing and building chimneys, flues, and connecting pipes. It is crucial that flues are installed according to the rules and NF DTU 24 regulations.

Residential fires aren’t just caused by electrical faults. Let’s be careful and continue to verify chimney installations so that we can safely appreciate fires.

Lionel ANCART
Construction Loss adjuster – GM Consultant Group

Nicolas PATRIS
Fire risks Loss adjuster – GM Consultant Group

1, 2, 3 … Ramonez !

CLIQUER POUR REVENIR A LA NEWSLETTER

 

Les premières vagues de froid arrivent, les premières lueurs dans les foyers de cheminée aussi… Mais pour qu’un feu de cheminée ne se transforme pas en un feu de conduit, le ramonage, opération à réaliser au moins deux fois par an, dont une pendant la période d’utilisation,  doit être effectué dans les règles de l’art. Selon le DTU 24.1, « On entend par ramonage, le nettoyage par action mécanique directe de la paroi intérieure du conduit afin d’en éliminer les suies et dépôts et d’assurer la vacuité du conduit sur toute sa hauteur ».

L’obligation de diagnostic des ramoneurs

Dans les faits, et malgré le bon déroulement des opérations, les départs d’incendie sont encore trop souvent constatés. La raison ? Les ramoneurs ont tendance à omettre qu’ils ont une obligation de diagnostic des non conformités apparentes !

En d’autres termes,  lors de la délivrance du certificat de ramonage, les artisans doivent impérativement faire apparaitre toutes les anomalies au niveau du conduit, la plus fréquente étant celle de la présence de bistre.

Rappelons à ce sujet que le bistre est un résidu de combustion incomplète du bois, qui se forme essentiellement lorsque la température de fumée est inférieure à 54°C. Ce condensat goudronneux s’imprègne dans le conduit de cheminée où il est protégé par les dépôts de suie. Seul problème :  le bistre s’enflamme dès 145°C. Ainsi, en début d’hiver, les propriétaires de cheminée font ramoner les conduits et mettent en route les cheminées, dans un sentiment de sécurité. Mais débarrassé de la suie, le bistre s’enflamme et on assiste au sinistre…

Des sinistres d’origines diverses

Toutefois, il convient de rester prudent et de ne pas accuser à tort les ramoneurs. Précisons en effet, qu’un feu d’habitation qui serait parti dans la zone du conduit peut avoir d’autres origines et notamment une non-conformité non apparente, au niveau de la pose du conduit.

Les conduits de cheminée intérieurs ou extérieurs, fixes ou amovibles, utilisés pour l’évacuation des gaz de la combustion doivent être mis en œuvre conformément à la légalisation. Ainsi, dans les causes d’incendie, nous avons pu identifier :

  • La présence de plus de 2 dévoiements, à 45° maxi (c’est à dire plus d’une partie non verticale) ;
  • L’absence de dilatation au droit des traversées de plancher ;
  • La mauvaise distance de sécurité entre la face externe du conduit de fumée et tous les matériaux combustibles adjacents ;
  • L’absence d’une plaque de distance de sécurité à chaque traversée de planchers et plafonds ;
  • Le mauvais emboitement du conduit (l’emboitement doit respecter le sens d’écoulement des condensats) ;
  • La présence de variation brusque de section.

La légalisation est ferme en matière de règle de mise en œuvre de conduit de fumées (rigide et souple) : La norme NF DTU 24.1 « Fumisterie » constitue le document normatif de référence dans ce domaine de construction. Elle fixe les règles de conception et de mise en œuvre des conduits de fumée, conduits de raccordement et carneaux. Il est primordial que les installations de conduits de fumée soient effectuées dans le respect des règles de l’art et de la NF DTU 24.

Les feux d’habitation ne sont pas que d’origine électrique. Restons donc prudents et continuons à faire vérifier les installations de fumisterie afin d’apprécier, avec sérénité, les feux de cheminées.

Lionel ANCART
Expert Construction – Groupe GM Consultant

Nicolas PATRIS
Expert Incendie – Groupe GM Consultant